golf club selection

AWW$HEEET

If I haven't played in a few years, would I be fucked if I started playing golf again with blades, versus a set of cavity backs? Similarly, what if I were to use steel shafts vs carbon/composite?

I'm looking at getting some irons and want to get some decent ones that will last me a decent amount of time. I really liked the feel of the cleveland tour action 7 irons. Also, what determines what degree of driver I should use?

If you're just starting I wouldn't spend too much. Being a guy who used grandpas Vietnam era blades and then bought new after 2 years I'd say get a set of mid range cavity backs. Maxfli or something similar.

Clevelands are great. My buddy just gave me his High Bore driver. LOVE it. Can get pricey though. Go to Golf Galaxy and talk to someone there. They'll let you try a few diff of each, set you up on the simulator, and check your swing to help recommend something. Had nothing but great service there.

If you're just starting I wouldn't spend too much. Being a guy who used grandpas Vietnam era blades and then bought new after 2 years I'd say get a set of mid range cavity backs. Maxfli or something similar.

Clevelands are great. My buddy just gave me his High Bore driver. LOVE it. Can get pricey though. Go to Golf Galaxy and talk to someone there. They'll let you try a few diff of each, set you up on the simulator, and check your swing to help recommend something. Had nothing but great service there.

Likely, I will get something used. I don't have a grand to spend on irons.

Hit the Pro Shop on Broad just east of Hamilton. They can fit you for clubs without spending a ton of loot. At a minimum get fitted for your driver. Personally I prefer a steel shaft for my clubs. I bought a 357cc Bertha a few years ago with a composite shaft used it one summer. Occasionally I will break it out, but I don't do well with it. So I stick to my irons.