Need help with getting rifle barrell drilled and tapped for scope

morabu

Let me get this out of the way by saying i am a novice shooter. I do have my CCW and an EDC. Pistols are about the only thing i have experience with though. I have never owned a rifle.

I just picked up a Savage Mark II off a buddy of mine. I bought this with the intent of plinking and practice for my son and i both. Weird thing about it is that there are no sights on it and no pre-drilled scope mount holes/screw covers (As far as i can tell).

I believe i am needing to get it drilled and tapped, so i can put a cheap/decent little scope on it. If anyone could help me out with where to go, or if you could help i would appreciate it.

J.R.

there are no irons. it does in fact have the rails though.

i believe this helps show my lack of knowledge right here. lol

i appreciate bringing this to my attention.

any good links/help on zeroing a scope?

as a matter of fact it does.

any good links/help on zeroing a scope?

1. Get a good, solid rest and put the gun on it. A sandbag or bag of beans can be made to work. Get creative.

2. Bore sight it. Once the scope is on and secured (evenly), pull the bolt out and look down the barrel towards the muzzle. Doing this, point the barrel at the target. Now, don't move the gun. Adjust the crosshairs to where the bore is pointing. Put bolt back in. Your gun is now bore sighted.

3. I like starting out at a closer distance in case my bore sight is slightly off. Say, 25 yd. This will keep you from chasing bullets that don't hit the target.