Head Hunters - Staffing Agencies, Job Hunting.

madcat6183

So, my employer is making cuts, a lot of cuts, often.  We still have about another 3,000 people going to be let go soon and I wanted to get peoples opinions on certain things that I have thought about trying.  Not just for the sake of leaving my employer due to a lay off, but just to see what else is available and help market myself better.

So long story short, I have my business degree from a small liberal arts college, and have been in the home lending industry and logistics industry since college.  5 years in HL and 2 years in Logistics, however not much else experience as I was a full time student and held a lot of positions around campus, both paid and not.

I have always wondered about hiring a head hunter and how it works, if it works, etc.  Same with using a staffing agency, or something similar.  I guess the main reason I am asking is I never had to really look for a job.  My first one I got hired face to face at a college job fair with a good salary and commissions, second one I was recruited, third and fourth I was an inside referral and hired on the spot.  But I also haven't had to truly look for a job for 7 years, which I am VERY thankful for, but now it looks like I may be looking soon.

I've been on careerbuilder since college, and apply to jobs left and right.  Many I am well past their requirements, some I'm not, and some after I start the process realize it will take more hours than I have with a newborn right now.  My question about careerbuilder is, has anyone ever actually heard back from a job on there?  I've been looking for like 3 months, apply to a ton of jobs and have never, once been contacted.  Same with Monster.  Actually I quit using Monster a long time ago after many years and 0 contacts.