Sealents / Gaskets

Nate1647545505

Yes, there are rules, don't use the shit if you have a gasket available. Use a good quality gasket, either factory or FelPro. And if you really need an adhesive for assembly, use Indian Head gasket Shelac. I have been wrenching for 20 years. And have done it this way ever since I was old enough to break a bolt loose. And I have NEVER had a gasket leak.

RTV, is a gasket replacement. Not a sealant. There is a black gasket sealant out there, but it's not a silicone based RTV. RTV is meant for mating surfaces that there are no gasket available for. And unmachined or uneven surfaces to fill voids. If you have tried to replace a gasket, with a good brand of gacket and it still leaks, it will seal it, but if it's leaking wiht the proper gasket in place, then it has other problems with the mating surfaces not being flat enough to get a good seal. And you are simply putting a bandiad on the problem.

First Rule, NEVER PUT ANYTHING IN A TUBE on a head gasket. Go back, read that several times and remember it. There are copper spray adhesives for head gaskets, I have never used them, and don't plan to. Heads are finely machined, and should never need a sealant other than the head gasket, if it does, it needs machining, because its' no longer flat as it should be.

Second Rule, buy good gaskets, the cheap stuff is just that, and will require glooping on RTV to get it to seal. Don't go this route. Some poor bastard will need to remove that part that you just glued together with RTV, and it's a pain in the ass to deal with and clean off.

Thrid Rule, if its' got a new gasket, the fasteners are torqued to spec, in the correct order, and its' leaking, the mating surface is not machined properly and should be either machined or replaced.