Any suggestions for the Lake Cumberland area?

sonavabeech

Mark and I are planning on getting a cabin during the week of Sept 14 -21st at Lake Cumberland.

Neither of us have been to the area and I've been looking up a lot of different places online.

I'll be driving the truck trailering my bike/bikes and Mark will be following behind / leading in front on his bike. (Yeah, I'm a trailer queen, I ain't ashamed...and I pack too much shit :D )

So, my question is what side / area is best to find a place to stay? I'd like to be close to an area that has jet ski / water craft rentals, stores, and restaurants. I don't like to "rough it" too much.

Ohh ohh pick me pick me!! I've been boating down there for 10 years now.

West side!!

Actually ok. We are docked at Grider Hill, but I'm not sure what their customer service is like anymore because of the new ownership. They've got jet-ski rentals and there is the lodge restaurant.

The majority of people now are going to State Dock. They have a really nice lodge and restaurant. A lot of the rentals there are really new and nice. And make sure you walk the docks if you go, the boats are absolutely incredible!

Might I suggest you go to www.lakecumberland.com I'm on that forum too and there is so much info on that site, you'll spend hours researching and still not know what you want!

If you have questions still I shall try to answer them for you.

Git one O' dem houseboats.

We thought about that but since it'll just be the two of us, it would probably be too much. Also, we're bringing our bikes down (He's trying to talk me into riding instead of trailering mine).

Ohh ohh pick me pick me!! I've been boating down there for 10 years now.

West side!!

So west side would be the Jamestown area or the Wolf Creek Dam area?