Autocrossing with SCCA

31rx7

I read the other thread about autocrossing, and rather than try to address all the points mentioned there, just decided to make it simple.

My son and I are autocrossing all local SCCA events this year. We are running the kalecoauto.com Dodge Neon, STS #31 and #131 (an appropriate sponsor for the car...). I have been autocrossing since...well, a hell of a long time. Some years very serious, sometimes more for fun. I've driven all sorts of cars with reasonable success, and feel I have a lot of good, general knowledge about the sport.

In any case, for any CR member that comes out to an Ohio Valley Region SCCA event for the remainder of the year, I would be happy to help you out. It seems a lot of people are interested in it, and like anything it takes some time to get good at it. It is easy to get intimidated when you start out, especially if the mods you've already done to your car put it in some really fast class. Just come up and introduce yourself, and I will spend time with you, walk the course, and give you pointers where I can.

OVR SCCA Solo II schedule:

http://www.ovr-scca.org/eventSchedules/solo.asp

You should also read:

http://www.tirerack.com/features/solo2/handbook.htm

Have fun!

Rich

Hey, I wanna start autocrossing my Miata. I don't have any autocross experience but I do have quite a few miles (400+) of the Tail of the Dragon under my belt.

The way it looks right now, I should be able to make it to the July 9th @ OSU. My Miata is basically stock: cone filter, Falken ZE-512s.

Is there anything special that I need to bring, or have with me? What's the dress requirement, helmet etc?

Thanks, Jacob

ive seen the car, glad your not in g stock ;)

Me too. I am too cheap to be buying Hoosiers on a regular basis!

The STS tires are about the same in terms of feel, grip, and wear as the R compound tires from the late 1980's / early 1990's. And, a bunch cheaper.