Looking at buying a WRX (STI?)

Rhett

Im Looking at buying a good daily (for now) for when I get home in June. I am wanting 4WD or AWD. I have looked at Evos (more than I want to spend) and the VW R32 (idk if Im a fan.) So I have came to a WRX maybe an STI. So this is why I am asking you all for help. What is the Diffrence from a WRX and a STI (Engine, internals, tranny, electronics, break size) and if you were planning for in the future maybe a new turbo, motor build up with a tune would the STI be worth the extra money? What should I look for when buying one, what are the factory problem areas? And what would be the best thig to do after geting one just for a good upgrade, Intake, down pipe, exhaust, tune?

Thanks for the help Im kinda new to Imports I only know Honda/Acura and Nissan.

WRX: 02-05 are 2.0L, 5 spd(weak), smaller brakes, not as good suspension. Black interior, small td04 turbo. 5x100

06+ are 2.5L,

STI: 2.5L w/ bigger turbo (vf39,43,48), 6spd (strong), brembo brakes, better suspension (aluminum sway arms etc.) 5x114.3, BBS wheels

Im sure there is more, but thats the most important stuff.

Be careful buying a modded car and know who owned it. I wouldnt purchase one...

Good mods are uppipe (wrx), downpipe, ecu reflashed or tune. That yields around 230ish whp on a wrx and 280-300 whp on an sti.

IF your planning on going with a bigger turbo, get the sti. Saves you from worrying about replacing the tranny. Your insurance company will love you for it though.

Thanks the Insurance company is something I didnt think of I wonder if it will be bad with my GTand a STI?? Probs! I really would like to get an STI and just give it a tune and be done and have a fun Daily, but I dont know if I want to spend the money. Any one on here with a WRX regret not buying an STI?