Opinions: Glock 33 .357 VS Glock 27 .40?

GSXRAntwon

I am in the market for a subcompact pistol to basically have fun with. FYI I am new to guns. Ever since I held a Glock Subcompact I wanted one. I am just looking for some insight from some of the "veteran" gun enthusiests. I am leaning towards the 33 and yes I know its not an entry level gun becuase of its sheer force, but I like it.

Thanks,

Anthony

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I love the 357 SIG as a cartridge. Now, something you might not know about... and this works both ways: You can swap a barrel from a 357SIG into a 40 and vice-versa. The mags will usually work the same. Kudos on the pick. If you haven't shot one, you might want to try it first. I'm enthralled with the cartridge I just don't shoot it much.

.357SIG is a nice round, but unlike .40S&W, it's not readily availible if you were to need rounds. The Air Marshall service has all their Sig's chambered in .357SIG for it's personell. Here's part of an article:

Compared to the .40-caliber Smith & Wesson, it is obvious the .40 has much merit. Perhaps there is truth to the rumor the .357 SIG was a marketing ploy designed to lure the last magnum revolver holdouts to the auto-pistol! Cor-Bon's 135-grain JHP moves along in the .40 S&W at 1,325 fps.

A big .400-inch bullet at this velocity has much to recommend it. If you own a .40-caliber, a simple barrel change is all that is needed to make the gun a .357 SIG. So far, springs do not seem needed. The choice between the .357 SIG and one of the hotter .40 loadings is not a simple one. The .357 SIG loads were designed to produce greater vehicle penetration, the Cor-Bon load, designed for personal defense, being an exception.