IT guys..Lion vs. VMware Solutions vs. Windows

timmy43016

I am trying to decide a few things. I know I have Apple and Windows fanboys so please keep the posts objective. I need to seriously understand what works and what is all hype. This enviroment has less than 100 employees and less than 200 devices to manage (keep in mind NO SECURITY EXISTS which I intend on changing).

I have a software company that I am consulting for and they want to get "up to speed" with technology and security. I am weighing all options at the moment with Apple Lion server vs. going with a VM solution or Windows. The apps this place runs are not enterprise specific. They mostly either run a free software for DEV purposes or some black box simple program that will work on any platform I throw it at.

I am looking for recommendations pro's/con's between these options. I have plenty of VM/Windows experience, but Lion is VERY new to me and the data center mgr is hot and heavy from some white papers he had read about Lion. From a security aspect I am having trouble wrapping my head around Lion. All I get is that "it just work's" which is great and all for an end user, but from an admin perspective I am not happy with that answer.

This place needs security (as they have none..no proxy nothing). They have server 03, but do not even bother using GPO's to govern the environment. Please let me know what experiences with these you have. Any questions I will try to field as asked.

I don't see many OSx level deployments in the enterprises I consult for. From a virtualization standpoint your big players are Vmware, Hyper-V and Xenserver. I'm not going to speak for anything Mac related but from an industry standard standpoint I would use a Windows solution on any of the mention Hyper-visors.

Keep in mind all three of those vendors have free versions you can run for a production environment.

If you have any specific questions I do this for a living.

Edited by EssFo