Wanted: Complete AR Upper in 556

gillbot

I'm in no rush, as my lower is still delayed but i'm looking for a deal on an upper. This is my first build so it most likely won't last after I get it completed and start messing. I'll end up wanting something better so I don't want to drop a lot of dough into it. I may consider other uppers too if the price is right.

Here's the ad, someone will probably score it from under me if it's a good deal but o-well. http://www.armslist.com/posts/346470/meadville-pennsylvania-rifles-for-sale--ar-upper-5-56--223

For sale is an Olympic Arms 5.56mm complete upper with a stainless heavy barrel. The barrel is free-floated with a knurled aluminum hand guard. I had a piece of rail affixed to the bottom of the hand guard for accessories (ghetto grip, flashlight, etc). It probably has less than 40 rounds through it (enough to break it in), and it is in excellent or like-new condition. To sweeten the deal, I'm throwing a dark earth Magpul magazine that's never been used, and two used H&K all steel AR magazines. Asking $525...shipping negotiable.

I asked him if it was firm, he came back with:

The complete upper, the Magpul magazine, and 20 rounds of Wolf ammunition for $475.

I'd say that's a little overpriced honestly. I have a very similar upper I'd be thrilled to get that much out of. I wouldn't pay more than $350 for it personally, but for $400 it wouldn't be TOO bad of a deal.

On a related I have a few uppers I'd be willing to part with.

That's along what I was thinking as well. There are a few online new in the $419 range, stock comes and goes though. The Magpul Mag and Wolf ammo are cheap overall and don't really add much to me. I was thinking of telling him $400-425 for the lot and see what happens. If anything, it would save me the wait and shipping.