Putnum Aug 11

mango_sv

Who's heading out in a week? Or where are you going? Debating where to go for my first trackday. That is if I can get the bike around in time.

Putnam is a good track for a first time out as it has a nice mix of fast and slow sections and you can pick up the lines pretty quick. Biased, as it was my first track.

The the org. you run with for your first time is more important. Sportbiketracktime (STT) has a good Novice program that can ease you into the sport and help make for an enjoyable first experience. Others will have to provide input on Motoseries Novice program.

I was just reading thru the Novice track day on MotoSports Site. It says

No formal instruction is offered for this event, however you may ask for coaching advice. Coaches will only be available on a first come first serve basis. If this is your first track day, we highly recommend you take our Instructional school first. A complete novice to track riding will often spend their first few track days in the instructional group. After a degree of competence, safety, and minimum speed is achieved, the individual will be free to move to the Intermediate track days.

Do you think I will be alright or should I start with the Instructional Group? I don't really wanna wait any longer to do a track day.

Do the novice day at Putnam with MS. They will have ample amounts of instructors to assist. Trust me, they do a great job at helping, but understand one important thing here - YOU NEED TO ASK FOR HELP WITH ANY ORGANIZATION. If you sit around and think help will come to you, you may never see help as instructors will watch and if you are in need of assistance by the way you are riding, they will dive in to help, but if you tend to blend in and ride fine, you may never see help as they are looking to help those that really need it or ask.