Another newbie here...

godzilla

hey - im Mike - im not much into the racing scene really, I came from a rock crawling background. I spent all my time and money making my truck slower actually :) I recently got the bug again and picked up an old isuzu trooper I plan to bring back to life, im just looking for some local advice, currently looking for a good machine shop in Columbus to rebuld my head and possibly rebuild my bottom end if I decided to go with it.

The trooper will probably not be another crawler...I wont build another one of those until after im Divorced or my kids grow up and move out!

im in westerville if anyone is looking to hang out or shoot the shit im interested because my wife cant stand to hear me talk about it any more!

• Confused 1
  • Upvote 3

of my POS trooper :) Sure!

Here is a pic from the dude I bought it from, crappy cell pic:

http://www.mshilling.net/images/trooper_1.jpg

Here's me, pulling the motor last weekend:

http://www.mshilling.net/images/trooper_2.jpg

Here is the condition of the valves...amazingly this truck made it home from Indy to Columbus on 2 cylinders :)

http://www.mshilling.net/images/trooper_3.jpg

• Upvote 1

Ill get some pics of my old truck. It was a 2000 tacoma, with a solid axle, dual transfer cases, driveline e-brake, etc...it was unique because it used a toyota front axle which required tons of fabrication due to the "wrong side" drop differential. I say wrong side in quotes because to me, using jeep parts on a toyota is just wrong, so IMNSHO, it was the only way to go :)

Did all the work myself, including cutting off the IFS of a leased tacoma with 12,000 miles on it :p