Electrical Engineer looking

mmrmnhrm

Sort of a cross-post from the Romper Room where I was venting about Republicans suddenly rediscovering their faith in fiscal conservatism...

What type of engineering, what's your background?

My degree is electrical, though at this point, I think of myself as sort of a MacGyver in the making... my first job out of college was with Grumman, chasing down electrically compatible replacements/upgrades for obsolete chips. If it weren't for 9/11, I'd probably still be there. Second job was with a tiny shop in Cleveland doing PLC programming, variable speed drives (programming and repair), power quality, a little networking, and basically anything the owner suddenly thought up and came running down the hall yelling, "Tom! Chris! Think we can do this??" I absolutely loved it there, and even though the pay wasn't great, I learned more about real-world engineering with them than all four years of undergrad. Most recent was with Liebert, sort of a pre-sales "Here's what you need," post sales "No, sir, you can't plug your microwave into a 250VA unit," job. Eli knows what I'm talking about, as that's where we met.