Kasich or Strickland

SLOWLX

OK, this is my first year living back in Ohio and I'm admittedly ignorant of Ohio politics. I'm nominally liberal but I've voted for Republicans before, and I'm not a strict party-liner.

I just read up on Kasich and he seemed all right. I appreciate his budget efforts in the House during the Clinton Administration, but I feel that Strickland has a good point that he had it pretty easy since the country was doing pretty well. Meanwhile, Strickland's managed to keep the Ohio budget balanced for the last 4 years while struggling through this recession and not raising taxes.

Apparently he had to suspend a planned tax cut, and the tax cuts he takes credit for were actually gifts from the previous administration, but still, keeping the budget balanced is no small feat. It also looks like he's really done good things for bringing businesses to Ohio. All told, I'm not seeing any reason to be upset. Anyone want to convince me otherwise?

Just read the Dispatch's rather lukewarm endorsement of Kasich. It raises some good points, but isn't a slam dunk. Link and conclusion from the endorsement:

http://www.dispatch.com/live/content/editorials/stories/2010/10/10/for-governor.html

Some of Kasich's ideas raise concerns, particularly his declaration that he will not raise taxes and that he would do away with the income tax. Balancing Ohio's budget without additional revenue is a tall order. But his goal in making these declarations is to show that he wants to make the state an attractive place for development and economic growth. Nevertheless, the Ohio Constitution requires a balanced budget, and arithmetic is inflexible.

To give him his due, Strickland assumed office at one of the worst moments in the history of Ohio. But with hard times likely to persist, his performance does not inspire confidence. A change in leadership is required. Ohio voters should elect John Kasich as their next governor.