Credit Card Limits & Credit Scores

Sully

I know we have some financial experts on the board and would like to hear some opinions on this matter.

I have a card that has a credit limit of like $32,000. My balance is never above $5,000. The only reason it would even go that high would be from traveling for work and then work reimburses me. I've never asked for my limit to be raised, they just raise it automatically.

Would it hurt or help my credit score if I had the limit decreased to say $10,000?

Or would it do nothing to my credit score if I had it lowered?

Should I even bother with it?

I'm no expert, but I think it would hurt your credit score to have it lowered. At this point, you're using 15.625% of your available credit. If you had it lowered to $10,000, you'd be using 50% of your available credit. I think one of the big things that helps your credit score is not using anywhere near your available credit, so obviously, having a lower debt:credit ratio is better.

I could be wrong.

I went from having a combined total of around $3000 in credit limits to a combined total of over $30,000 in a period of a few months thanks to some creative negotiating, and my credit score shot up over 100 points. YMMV, but I'd leave it be.

eta: According to the advice I get from myfico.com, Austin is right. One of the key indicators is % of available credit used.

Lowering won't actually affect your score, but underwriters viewing it may base a decision, wondering about the reason it was lowered.

On the other hand, having a high limit may also make them think that you already have sufficiently available credit and can deny an application based on that.

As far as score wise goes, a higher limit is best as your utilization at any time is relatively lower. Utilization scales non-linearly with the decrease in score (40% utilization may drop your score 50 points, but 80% utilization is more like 150-200 points).