Casting Boolits

Dharris89

So I have been reloading for a couple years and decided to try casting. I've been accumulating a stash of wheel weights which are a good starting point. A big thanks to North End and Lucore to helping with the cause. Below is one trip.

http://i378.photobucket.com/albums/oo225/ceharrisnanny/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsadtdxfox.jpeg

After sorting out just the lead, I melted them down into ingots.

http://i378.photobucket.com/albums/oo225/ceharrisnanny/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsquleitrf.jpeg

Then onto a 10 pound Lee pot. So far I have cast 45acp, 357 Mag and 9mm.

http://i378.photobucket.com/albums/oo225/ceharrisnanny/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpse2jznunr.jpeg

That turned into this. I went a little overboard on the bullet lube on the 357.

http://i378.photobucket.com/albums/oo225/ceharrisnanny/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsimcnfhaq.jpeg

And finally, here are a couple 357 and 45 loaded up ready for the range.

http://i378.photobucket.com/albums/oo225/ceharrisnanny/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsfk8agwee.jpeg

Thanks for reading. If anyone else is casting, feel free to critique.

That is cool. Just curious, lead is pretty cheap no? How much are you actually saving by melting it down if you factor in time spent?

I have been able to get a lot of lead mostly old wheel weights for a minimal cost. I don't factor my time. There is no point. Once the kids go to bed, I fool around in my free time. Plus it's cool to take something that's going to be thrown away and turn it into something cool.

Also for some I know it doesn't matter but stinks you can't shoot lead inside

LEPD is where I go the most and they are fine as long as I used brass cased ammo.