Venison

Speed

So I bought a pup over the summer and she is fed a raw diet.

I picked up about 6 deer frames and a couple of barrels of scrap trim from a processor and bagged it up and shared it with some friends who also feed their dogs a raw diet.

I'm wondering if anyone knows of a processor or other source for venison.

A raw diet provides a range of benefits that commercial dog food can never hope match.

I'm still learning about it, but I can send you some info if you're interested.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't it illegal to sell venison in OH ? I know it can be donated or given away for free. Or you can buy it from a deer farmer - but I'm looking to stay away from commercially processed sources.

I've never hunted so it'd take me quite a while to become competent enough to catch my own.

That is where commercially processed food comes into play, for people like you... There are some very good food sources out there. Raw diet may be "great" for your "dog" but as you can tell, it is hard to find food. Science Diet, Eukanuba, and a few others I can't think of. All you need to look for is the first four ingredients. If they have rice in the first four, they suck and are just fillers. It's something like that.

Youre right. Wild dogs evolved eating meat. However, I woulndt want to have "wild meat eating" dog in my house.

Sounds like someone bought a wolf hybrid.

Yeah. That'd be a helluva stinky steamer if it was a house dog.

Youre right. Wild dogs evolved eating meat. However, I woulndt want to have "wild meat eating" dog in my house.

Sounds like someone bought a wolf hybrid.

Haha - no, my dog is a dog (has AKC papers not that it matters), not a wild hybrid (illegal). Raw diets are for pretty much any dog - I know people with chihuahus, jack russels, poodles, dalmations, pugs, boxers, etc.

Edited by Speed