Questions on MCSE

boostedgtp

How important do you think it is for someone trying to get a job in the computer field to have there MCSE certification? I’m a tech at a garage and one day soon I hope to get into the computer field as some sort of trouble shooter. Is there any schooling or training you would recommend?

Carl

It'll probably get you in the door faster. Hell, here at Bank One..You might have your MCSE, but if you don't support HUNDREADS of servers, good luck.

I've been doing PC work for around 10 years. Never had a cert in my LIFE. I'm going to get my A+ here in a few weeks.

Certs are really necessary. I guess it depends on the company and how they look at training.

How long have you been doing computer work?

Even though you asked twice, I will only answer once.

MCSE certification depends on a couple of things,'

First and most importantly is what REAL WORLD experience you have to go with it. THe cert it's self has become the toliet paper of the computer world. At one time that cert was highly sought after, because NO ONE had it. I remember when the 100000 MCSE was certed. Now, there are MCSE's on every street corner and in every cheese line looking for a job. Reason is that they got paper that says they know something but no job history. And the training boot camps turn out more Microsoft certed people every week. Guys in the IT field that you tell about being an MCSE will pretty much look at you and say "so what".

That being said, guys that work in the IT field are not typically the ones that have final say on who gets a job. People that have no clue about IT typically gat to make that desision, and they see the MCSE certification in a different light. And if it comes down to you and another guy with the cert, if you ain't got it he's getting the job. Here is wher I remind you again about the boot camps turning more MCSE's every week.

So, the question that you SHOULD be asking is "What do I need to do to get into the IT field?"