Topic: Service Plans

cNeutron

I work at Circuit City and i had previously worked at Best Buy. I have been selling service plans at both places for about 4 years. I personally believe in them for most items; big screen tvs, subs, and among other things. I believed in them before I worked there so it wasnt like Best Buy gave me a bias opinion on them. What i do wonder is why some people are so much against them. I ask you guys the general public do you disagree or agree with them? Sometimes i have a hard time believing why people DONT buy them when they protect against the problem they were just bitching about. Others i do understand why they dont. So try to keep it on topic and have a educated response. More so then just saying they blow or something to that effect.

I feel your pain.Ive been selling them for six years at OMAX.The reason why people dont buy them in my opiniom is that they know if they bitch and whine enough about something most retailers will take care of them anyways.So why spend the extra money if they will be taken care of.

most electronics come with a warranty on them already....

if I was going to buy something real expensive like a projection tv or a plasma screen I'd prolly go with a service plan

but a set of speakers or a car stereo? half the time the plan costs almost as much as the item does. if it isn't busted in 90 days to a year its going to outlive the car its installed in...

retailers make money on service plans becuase they know that only a small percentage of the items they sell with an exrended warranty will ever actaully need repaired or replaced. its the same reason insurance companies make money.

its not really a scam but for the average person its just not really worth it.