Joining Air/Army National Guard With BS Degree

Limitedslip7

I graduated last June with a BSMET degree and was unable to find work for six months. I finally found a crap entry-level manufacturing engineering job three months ago making a paltry $35k/yr salary, but it has provided decent experience so far. I have quite a bit of student loan debt so I have been looking into joining a reserve branch of the military to help pay for it while maintaining a civilian engineering job.

I first checked with the Army/Navy reserves but they claimed to only offer a $20k loan repayment for a 6 year enlistment (their website says $40k however), with no sign-on bonus and a high probability of multiple and lengthy deployments where I would be losing significant amounts of money/experience by not being able to work a civilian job.

The Army National Guard recruiter said they are currently offering a $50k loan repayment for a 6 year enlistment and would still be eligible for a sign on bonus in the unlikely event that I was able to secure one of the few MOSs still offering them. They said to expect an overseas deployment of up to one year and the possibilty of much shorter domestic deployments. With yearly loan payments factored in, I would be making $13,063 as an E-4 or $17,187 as an O-1. They also said I would have to start as an E-4, finish my E-4 MOS training, then apply for OTS if I wanted to remain eligible for the student loan repayment.