4.3L vortec distributor timing

Ef8sirJunkie

did head gaskets on my 97 4.3L blazer i have come to put the distributor back on need a little more help on this part i cant tell if cylinder 1 is at TDC and looking at the balancer there seems to be no mark to line up against the pointer. also i am told i have to line up the oil gear and put the rotor button facing towards cylinder 1. i understand the rotor button but this is my first time working on a chevy so is there any tips on getting the oil pump gear lined up.

Thanks CR

:bangbang::bangbang:

Edited by Ef8sirJunkie

you can turn the oil pump drive with a straight screwdriver if you need to adjust where the rotor points.....

the balancer should have a mark set it at 10btdc and make sure number one piston is up you can use a screw driver to make sure the piston is all the way up

then point the rotor at number 1 on the cap and put the distributor in

you can turn the oil pump drive with a straight screwdriver if you need to adjust where the rotor points.....

the balancer should have a mark set it at 10btdc and make sure number one piston is up you can use a screw driver to make sure the piston is all the way up

then point the rotor at number 1 on the cap and put the distributor in

This, and make sure it's on compression.

thanks guys ima do this tomorrow after work and hopefully i dont put it 180 out.

Just shove your thumb in the #1 cylinder plug hole and rotate the engine or have someone bumping the starter. When you feel pressure pushing your thumb out, you're on the compression stroke (if you don't have a TDC tool).

Guest 614Streets