Metalworking Schools in Columbus/Delaware?

williaty

I've taken an interest in metalworking and would like to go through some formal training in all aspects of metalworking. Specifically, I'd very much like to lean to use a mill by hand as well as CNC and the same with the lathe. The problem is that this seems to not be a fit trade for an American anymore, so no one teaches it. Every voc-tech, adult education, whatever type school I've called has told me they've shut down everything except their auto repair and IT programs.

Does anyone know of any place in Delaware or Franklin (or even something close) counties?

Kind of funny that I see this pop up. I graduated from eastlands machine trades program in 93 and it got dumped in 95 I think. I have always wondered what they did with the equipment. As far as the other tech schools it would not surprise me if they dumped there programs as well.

When they would have tours for enrollment back then I remember most kids did not want to run old machines and were scared of all the math involved. Sad, very sad. After being in this trade for 18 years if I could do it over again I would probably do something else. I am fortunate to have a really good job that pays very well and is with a great company but there is limitations.

If you just want to learn as a hobbyist I can understand as it is neat to do your own work when you want to. Have you tried calling Columbus state? Do you have equipment now?

Here is something I found quickly at OSU website when I typed machining into there search function

http://nsmwww.eng.ohio-state.edu/Machining_2_Lab_Presentation.ppt#336,3,Introduction to milling