Toilet Repair - Flapper Design

Berto

So both my toilets leak and they drive me ABSOLUTELY INSANE. Now that thats out of the way lets move on

I am not a toilet expert. I've replaced the flappers a few times over the years and I am starting to question whether I am getting the right one. Let me explain.

My flapper looks like this one (exactly actually)

http://www.lowes.com/pd_21398-868-2001CM_0__?productId=1059981&Ntt=toilet+flapper&pl=1&currentURL=/pl__0__s%3FNtt%3Dtoilet%2Bflapper

I am wondering where is the flapper supposed to seal.

-Is it supposed to seal on the cone part of the flapper

-or on the flat part at the base of the flapper, where the cone acts as a guide.

To me it would make sense for it to seal on the cone part of the flapper so the downward force applies a force to the side as well. Currently my flapper seals at on the flat part at the base of the cone. Hence I would need to get a bigger one?

I dont usually talk about my flappers but I have put a few of these on before this same type actually I just installed on a toilet yesterday at my moms house because it was always running. I believe it seals on the flat part and the cone just helps it fall into place. These are usually universal fit. Also the one I used was the same as yours but mine had a float on it that gave me a little trouble untill i got it adjusted correctly.

So both my toilets leak and they drive me ABSOLUTELY INSANE. Now that thats out of the way lets move on

I am not a toilet expert. I've replaced the flappers a few times over the years and I am starting to question whether I am getting the right one. Let me explain.

My flapper looks like this one (exactly actually)

http://www.lowes.com/pd_21398-868-2001CM_0__?productId=1059981&Ntt=toilet+flapper&pl=1&currentURL=/pl__0__s%3FNtt%3Dtoilet%2Bflapper

I am wondering where is the flapper supposed to seal.

-Is it supposed to seal on the cone part of the flapper