Gold and silver investing

99BlownYellowGT

Does anybody have any advice or websites where i can read up on gold and silver investing?? Cant seem to find a legitimate one. I am new to this but i have a little extra cash and wanted to go this direction. Unless i should be looking in another direction. I am clueless with this stuff and i need to learn!!

Silver is pretty high right now. Been in the 30 range for a while now

http://www.apmex.com/

If you could find someone and buy it few dollars below spot (best way is buying in bulk) You might be into something.

Also another thing to remember. 100 ounce (bars) easier to buy and harder to sell.

Small amounts 1 ounce at a time usually sell closer to spot but sell faster.

I have spent a huge amount of time in precious metals. If any more questions feel free to ask.

By looking it seems people are buying american eagles to keep for this purpose. But they are going for 1800 a piece.

The gold value itself is only 1667, and as you said those coins sell in the $1720 and up range.

People pay a premium for them. For that reason I steer clear of them... But I know people that make money with them.

I see them going on ebay for over 18-1900. Im looking to hold on to them for over 5 years. They seem to double in value

eBay is not indicative of the true market.

A. The sellers incur high fees for listing,selling,receiving payment,shipping, and insuring.

B. The buyers manipulate coupons and cash back rewards lowing their true cost.

Realistically can you find these coins below trading value?

Coins, not likely. Bars, probably.

The only time I got coins below their "real" value was an eBay deal. A seller had a fair price to begin with, and I had a coupon available and stacked it with a cashback promo AMEX was running on one of my cards.

Here's a thread from 2011 that might be of some interest. There are a few valid points, but you have to sift through some crap, too: