CR Stock Watch

Tractor

January was brutal to long positions. It was a perfect example of why I don't hold over night.

In all I made 7 trades, one went south on me for a loss of around $200 with a profit of around $2400 for the month.

I started playing around with OANDA's forex practice account, but I can tell ya I don't know anything about forex or how to actually trade it, just using the candle stick charts in their app isn't enough to be consistent. Maybe with some more study I can make it profitable.

Anyone here actually trade forex?

• Replies 224
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I didn't place a trade the last two weeks, due to the strong trends. Today I was able to sneak one in to catch a little profit. Historically February is a good month to buy and hold until around June/July then sell off for summer. Especially in the seasonal stocks, ie Scotts Companies, Budweiser, etc if they are towards the bottom of their 52wk numbers.

DDD (3D Systems) blew up today on a bad earnings report chasing out a lot of the newbs. I jumped in on it for a quick 5.5% gain before exiting. Thats awesome to me since I consider anything greater than 0.25% good profit. A setup that occurs only a couple times per year on the stuff I watch and this time I was ready for it.

An hour later I pulled off another in/out trade on AUY (gold mining co) for a 0.3% gain.

So far my AAPL is down for the year but still way up from when I got in last year so I'm keeping with it. I just purchased some AMZN yesterday since it's on sale, will probably hold it for a little while. My mining and OG stocks have actually been doing pretty well so far, all up for the year.

• 1 month later...