Toyota Tacoma Vs. Other Trucks/ Work Vans/ Sprinter Van

Radio Flyer1647545514

I'm looking to pick up a Toyota Tacoma to live in for the next year or two while I travel the U.S. to climb my ass off before I get to old and miss my opportunity.

I have no knowledge of this truck vs that truck so I'm trying to pick the truck peoples brains on what you wish you had/ need or would have done differently. I'm looking at the Tacoma because of reliability and resale value if for some reason I decide to sell it after this journey.

What I do know is that the Tacoma frame will rust from the inside out so if I find one that has been in salt I want it to have had the frame recall done recently as I've heard this doesn't transfer to used buyers but I might be wrong on this. I also read the 95.5 models to 2001 weren't included in the recall so I'm steering clear of those.

I'm looking to get a TRD Off Road V6 RWD Access Cab with the Locker as I don't THINK the 4x4 will be necessary based off of what some friends have told me terrain is like in the places I'll be visiting. I'll spend most of my time in the Red River Gorge in KY, which my Corolla moves around in just fine. For the colder midwest months I'll be traveling to Tennessee, Texas, California, Utah, Wyoming and Colorado.

I don't think I'll use the 4x4 enough to warrant the extra up front cost, declined gas efficiency and higher maintenance costs that come along with 4x4. I see a lot more 4x4 for sale though with this package so I'm wondering if anyone has run into issues with them or if they're worth giving a look. The only reason I've been told to look at 4x4 is because it won't eat up the roads I drive on as much. Most of the roads into climbing areas are either graded each year or they try to have a heavy dose of gravel dropped over them. The access roads are normally steep hills leading into valleys. They become mud pits and with heavy rains I've seen a number of people getting stuck in their FWD cars.