any experience with GPX Pro laptimer?

i-Zapp

considering buying one of these -

http://www.xtracing.com/en/gpxpro/index.php

its a bit spendy, but i think it would be cool as hell. probably very helpful for novice riders to see where they can go faster / losing time / taking wrong lines, and could help find those last few tenths for advanced riders.

I haven't used that. For $120 you can get Bluetooth GPS module (I use Dual brand) and Harry's LapTimer Pro (iPhone/iPod Touch) or Android App. Assumes you have the phone/device.

I have only used one practice day and worked well. I'm still learning. A lot of tracks already configured, but setting a new one is pretty simple. Just walk to start finish line and click button. I haven't used all the features yet.

I haven't crashed with it yet either.

Chris

Edited by turnone
extra word removal

^ actually that's not a bad thought.

put up a WTB thread a couple different boards, and find someone who lost interest in their toy. Track down some eBay gauges for their bike, and make their life a little easier, and do a trade + a little cash.

GPS data collection is one of those things that I'd like to be able to rationalize paying for, but it's 2-3 weekends of race fees...

The ability to know WHERE you're slow instead of just THAT you're slow is pretty valuable.

There was a company that was renting the units for a while (Traqmate? maybe not with the Q?) so you could try them out, and then buy at a discount through them, or just keep renting them for $30 a day when you're at a new-to-you track or something.

Anyway, they offered to send me one for a weekend for just cost of shipping, but I didn't have a camera setup to integrate with it, so my data wasn't going to be worth much as far as demonstrating on their website :(

Anyway, this is the company name I remembered, but I don't think it's the actual company that was renting them... http://www.gospecracing.com/rentals.html