Need a Mechanics opinion on tools

Tomcat0403

I just bought a 204pc mechanics set to replace the 168pc mechanics set i have. The problem is i compared the two side by side and the 204pc set is missing a few things that might be too useful to ignore. The 168 pc set has two spark plug sockets, more combo wrenches, a longer 3/8ths socket wrench, 3" extensions for all three socket wrenches, bigger sockets (i.e. 21mm over a 19mm max) and more 3/8ths deep well sockets. Benefits to the 204pc set; the case actually holds all of the tools in a more compact area, it has a lot more 1/4" deep well sockets, more allen wrenches, and more smaller 1/4" sockets.

Anyone have an opinion about if differences matter?

well i would do the 204 piece set because i do auto body for a living and the 1/4" ratchet and sockets get a lot more use than the 3/8" because of there smaller size so i would do the 204 and buy the add. like extensions wrenches all the fun stuff because you can never have to many tools its just not possible but stay away from snap on lol a 44 piece socket set cost me $504

1/4 and 3/8 got the fair share of use in my shop. I say just pick one and buy what the other is missing. Def stay away from snapon and mac they make a good quality tool but its not worth the price of sears. There are a few things they make better but the majority of my box is all craftsman.

socket size--i dont know of any bolt on my bike that i use a lot thats bigger than 18mm, other than the rear axle, and steering stem nut. but those are 22/32 mm. i bought those seperately.

box wrenches--don't really use these very much, ill use the smaller ones occasionally not a big deal

spark plug socket -- does your 204 pc have one? if it does then don't worry about it.

longer 3/8" wrench -- if you can't get it off then your either 1) weak or 2) need leverage, you've got that hollow tube in your tool kit you can "add on" if you need to. honestly i dont think this will be a problem.