Soldering a positive battery cable?

1Quik7

So I was doing an upgrade to my truck and I noticed the positive terminal on passenger side battery was loose (dual battery HD truck setup) so I tightened it and the lead snapped. Its not your typical post terminal, they have a line coming in the front and one going out the back. The cable coiming across from the driver side battery in the front snapped.

I have limited solder experience, mostly small r/c and electronics. The cable snapped at the termial, is there a solder that is strong enough to hold...at least temporarily? I would just replace the cable, but like I said, its a weird doulbe terminal that has a cable exiting out the backside.

Mine are getting weak on my truck, and I've got a replacement set from these guys in the garage...

https://www.custombatterycables.com/2007-2009-dodge-ram-2500-3500-6-7l/

Not sure what truck you've got but they sell individual upgrade cables or complete sets. Look to be great quality.

Not worth it except as an emergency repair. It won't hold. Too brittle. Solder is really better for small jobs in which flex is absolutely minimal. If you do, make sure you get the good lead stuff or the heat cycling will cause it to fail incredibly quick.

Replace.

You can get the solder terminals at Napa and many other places. Getting the old copper wire clean to get ththe solder to stick is going to be the tricky part. I use a torch and invert the terminal. If the wire is cleaned with rosin flux, you can heat the terminal with a torch and fill with solder. While the solder is still molten insert the fluxed wire into the terminal and hold in place you can also crimp with a round punch to hold it mechanically as well.

Let's see a pic

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk