Using a credit card in private transactions? Possible or a pipe dream?

Harb67

*pokes head in and looks around* Been a while since I've really spent any time on OR...I'm not dead, just havn't been doing anything bike related for a while. I hate real life :( Anyway...

I'm hoping to get a new bike next year, but I have zero experience dealing in private transactions with used vehicles; the only vehicle I've ever bought was my 650 which I got new at a dealership.

Is it possible to use a credit card in a private transaction? Say if I were to buy a used bike from a private seller, is there any way at all to use my credit card to cover some of the cost, short of using the cash advance 'feature' that my CC company offers? (i say "feature" because in my opinion, anything that has a 24.99% APR is a last resort, not a feature) I was pondering the possibility of using my CC to buy a cashiers check or something, but I'm fairly inexperienced with this realm of personal finance.

I'm really hoping there is some way to make this happen, otherwise I'll probably have to stick to stealerships...and finding the exact model, year, and color of bike I want at a dealership would be like finding a needle in a haystack :\

Any input/ideas are welcome...I'm lookin to get ejakated on this subject because it's something I've put off learning for way too long :) Thanks!

PayPal

Brilliant, I never even considered paypal for a transaction like this. Now that I think about it, it might be a bit tough convincing a seller to take that route but I figure if I'm up front about it and provide enough identification and means of contact, they should realize I'm legit and not out to scam anyone. Hopefully.

if you are responsible and can manage not to abuse it, I highly recommend a personal line of credit. You can pull out cash directly and my interest rate currently is astounding at 4.5%. I've bought several cheaper vehicles (including my bike) going this route