loose helmet

Steve Butters

ok guys i have an RF1100 that i just bought in April...ive only put like 500 miles on it

ive started a gym membership and better diet and im starting to lose some weight, and currently i have the largest cheek pads available in the helmet and it fits ok, but if i lose any more weight, ill need a size L isntead of XL

with how much these damn things cost, ide hate to have to break my bank and buy another one after just buying the one i have...

is there any way to shim the cheek pads any more to make it fit more secure? or could i have the pads reupholstered a little thicker, like just have a thin piece of foam wrapped around them and then fabric laid over it? that sounds like it would be ok, but idk where ide have that done lol

if anyone has a matte black rf1100 in like new condition like mine, ide be willing to trade!! haha, dont see that happening tho

basically, is there anything i can do to avoid spending another $400 on a helmet?

I'm not a doctor, but isn't your head size basically a function of your skull and jaw size?

Losing weight shouldn't affect the size of your head.

If it does, maybe grow a beard? :D

start eating cheeseburgers again.

methinks you're fooked until it gets chillier and you can wear a mask to cover your newly slender cheeks. CL that thing and see what you can get for it to offset a new lid. My $.02.

start eating cheeseburgers again.

methinks you're fooked until it gets chillier and you can wear a mask to cover your newly slender cheeks. CL that thing and see what you can get for it to offset a new lid. My $.02.

sadly thats my other option im leaning towards.... i just dont see a big market for used helmets...maybe its just me, im weird about using a helmet that isnt mine or i didnt buy brand new...feels like wearing someone elses underwear which just wouldnt be right to me lol

im going to stick it out...i may swing by pony and try on a L and see if the fit seems worth the loss to me..