Six step home detailing process - day 2

SupraGlue

Thanks, everyone for the feedback on day 1. I agree with the comments made by Buck and 614Streets. This is definately meant as a safe do-it-yourself deal for cars with reasonably good paint that are looking for a nice "street finish". Severe problems or serious car show details are beyond the scope of this process, btw.

As far as paying goes, I am not a professional, just a hobbyist who likes his car. smile.gif You've heard from a couple of the pros on the list, so I'd recommend talking to one of them if you're serious about getting that done.

Now, on to day 2, buffing and polishing. If you ever leave the car to sit overnight in the middle of a detail, btw, ALWAYS clean it off with Quick Detailer before continuing on to the next step.

Step #3 - Rubbing/buffing compound:

Here is where you're going to start using the DA buffer, and a good quality mild rubbing compound. My choice is 3M Perfect-It II Fine Cut. This will knock down any scratches 1500 grit or higher, along with removing a lot of stains, paint or other contaminants left in the surface layer that the clay didn't get. 3M makes some great products with excellent consistency, btw.

What you want to do is use a clean buffing pad on the DA, and try not to use too much compound (easy to do). You'll be surprised at how little you need. Start at a slower speed (if it is a multi-speed buffer) and work the compound onto the panel, running the buffer over it lightly.

Now, you're going to want to keep buffing until the compound starts to come back up into the pad -- you can increase the speed a little to help. This is a polishing process that uses the abrasive in the compound to knock down the roughness in the surface, and the abrasives become smaller and finer as you continue to buff the surface.