Good First Handgun?

wagner

I am thinking about getting into firearms and maybe a hand gun. What are some good places to do research and get ideas besides google?

I am looking for stuff in the 9mm, .40, or .45 range in that order. I also want something that I can take to the range or use a carry weapon if I go that route.

Be gentle I am a gun noob :)

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Go to a gun range, rent different guns in different calibers. Repeat until you find the right one you like.

Remember, opinions are just like assholes, everyone has one and they all stink.

So much truth there lol.

I do plan on going out and trying some different guns and calibers here soon. What are some good websites to do research on and compare?

I LOVE 1911's but price is what might put those out of my range.

So much truth there lol.

I do plan on going out and trying some different guns and calibers here soon. What are some good websites to do research on and compare?

Glocktalk, AR15.com, I think there is also Firing line if I'm not mistaken. I take some of those opinions with a grain of salt personally, like anything else. One person will praise Brand "X", where as another will bash Brand "X" and tell you Brand "Y" is better. Depending on your hand size, some handguns will be more ergonomic. I know BWSC and NASR both have a good selection of rental firearms to try out.

-Side note: Something I found cool from Sig Sauer, the P250 with the compact/full size frame package.

http://www.policemag.com/_Images/articles/M_Arsenal_10.jpg

Get the best of both worlds.

So much truth there lol.

You can get a Springfield A1 GI 1911 for 499.00. I have one and love it.