Prepping body work for paint - questions

yummy_waffles

Hello people. So I just started prepping my plastics to be painted. I'll be doing the painting with a spray gun as well (first time). I've spent quite some time researching in forums, but since I'm fairly new at this I wanted to get a few tips from the people who are familiar with body work.

I haven't gotten very far, but I wanna make sure that I take the time to perfect the prepping stage.

• Washed all plastics with soap and water.

• Once dried, I used dupli-color prep-spray (wax & grease remover).

• Then I dry sanded with a 'P240 very fine' wet/dry sand paper. It came out pretty smooth, but I'm worried once I go to prime will the scratches be visible? So I was thinking about following up w/ some wet sanding using the same grit paper to possibly smooth it out a bit. Would this be okay?

That's how much I've accomplished so far. Still got a lot of work, but things are going pretty smooth. As far as priming, do I need to lay a coat of adhesion promoter for the plastic? I was thinking about going that route instead of epoxy primer since I already bought regular dupli-color primer. If I use the adhesion promoter, will I need to fine-sand that as well? Does the promoter only come in aerosol can, because that's all I can find.

That's it for now. I'm pretty sure I'll have plenty of questions along the way. I'll update with pictures as I go along. Cheers :cheers:

adhesion promoter only needs to be used if there are areas of bare plastic before you prime. The promoter should have been done before primer anyway. I would personally do 2-3 real good coats of primer with wet sanding before you lay down the color.

+1 and don't use the P type sandpaper. Its much more course.

320 dry 400 wet 600 wet any higher and your just wasting time.

Color sanding thats another story.