Lurch, FI light, oil light = died

KhaoticRebel

Ok, so I filled up before making a 100 mile highway trip home. I noticed in some slow stop and go traffic that it was seriously chugging. This was very unusual. At this point none of the lights came on or anything. I make it all the way to my exit and as I'm slowing down the oil light comes on and the bike conks out. It starts back up and off I go. The oil light stays on for a 1/4 mile and goes away. I ride for another 5-7 miles no problem. I pull into my apt complex and it starts lurching hardcore. I passed too guys who probably thought I was a total noob because it was lurching so bad. The oil light came on and the FI blinked. It died again right after that and I was able to coast down the hill into my garage thankfully. The oil was changed at the start of the season, there's still plenty of oil in the little window, and I haven't passed 2500 miles this season. Anyway, could this just be bad gas? Help a gal out, I'll be very appreciative.

get the FI light code. this should apply to all 600rr.

From 600rr.net:

There's a "test plug that you need to ground, and count the flashes of the FI light. The plug is under the seat, right side of the bike, near the ECM , at the right rear of the battery. There are 2 wires to the plug (brown and green), and you need to jump them, then turn the key "on", with the kill switch on "run", sidestand down.

According to my manual (2003/2004):

A long blink = "10"

A short blink = "1"

DNS = Engine does not start

EON = Engine operates normally

And I quote (i.e. don't shoot the messenger):

BLINKS : PROBLEM, SYMPTOMS

No blinks: ECM malfunction, DNS

No blinks: ECM power / ground circuit malfunction, DNS

No blinks: ECM output line malfunction, DNS

No blinks: MIL circuit malfunction, EON

Stays lit: Data link circuit malfunction, EON

1 blink: MAP sensor circuit malfunction, EON

2 blinks: MAP sensor performance problem, EON