Boating Question

Drewhop

I'm thinking about picking up a boat and i looked up some info but a lot of it I just don't know what I need.

I guess I don't need a Boating permit because I was born before 1/1/1982.

What do I need to do?

What do I need to keep on boat with me to make sure everything is legit?

What is good boating etiquette?

What are some of the rules and laws I need to know once I am on the water?

Any help is appreciated

Thanks Andy

The legaleez stuff you can find on the DNR website.

http://www.dnr.state.oh.us/watercraft/tabid/2726/default.aspx

Best possible boat etiquette. Learn how to launch and recover the boat in 3 minutes or less. Boatramps cause people to lose 50 IQ points.

If its my first time launching boat should I take a big sign that says

"I am going to need more then 3 minutes" Or wait until other people clear out so i can practice lol.

If its my first time launching boat should I take a big sign that says

"I am going to need more then 3 minutes" Or wait until other people clear out so i can practice lol.

your first time i would recommend taking someone that knows what they are doing with you, or going to a ramp that is barely used. Week nights are generally a good time to go practice stuff like that on Alum.

Main things you need are:

Flares/distress flag, audiable horn or some kind, life vests for everyone on the boat, throwable life presever, flame supressor thing on your carb.... I'm sure there is more that I am forgetting. If you wanna meet at Alum sometime I can help you launch it sometime, I only live 10 mins away.

I should have the boat this weekend but I have to do a bit of work on it before its ready for water. Its a 16 Foot Aluminum Fisher Marine boat with 60 hp Evinrude Outboard Motor on it. Nothing fancy but it will do what I want it to do.

Thanks for the help I will let you know if i need help in the next couple weeks.

Ugh, boat ramps. So many retards.