Either of these look like good buys?!

JaysonL

So I'm completely new to biking in general and just bought a bike to start riding in spring. In the mean time I was hoping to tinker with a project dirt bike over winter.

I was wondering if either of these bikes look like a potentially good deal on a project bike (something that won't take 100's to get running, not too shot too hell)?! You guys being dirt riders would know better than anyone. Any advice is welcome.

http://akroncanton.craigslist.org/mcy/1502095239.html

http://akroncanton.craigslist.org/mcy/1503133302.html

Thanks in advance!:D

-Jayson

I'm full grown at 5'7" and about 135/140....

So I'm still small at my "full-grown height."

Do you still think that the 80'd be a bad idea considering it needs a lot of attention too....

And if the general description of "needs rebuilt" is exactly that for the 100, wouldn't it need just as much attention.

(Just asking questions, not questioning your wisdom or advice haha)

I would stay away from both!!! The 80 is worth about 4 to 500 at most in perfect running condition it will cost way more to put it together. The kaw uses a nickle lined cylinder, if you bore it out you must have the cyclinder re-nickled, its costly and takes a long time to get done. I'm not a big honda guy or anything but old xr 4strokers run forever and they are pretty low priced I just sold a xr100 for 600 ran perfect. What is your budget? wha kind of riding do you plan on doin? My xr was just a beat around pop whelies n such I also have an 01 rm250 2stroke thats set up for mx track riding I'd let it go for 1200.

wow, good to know abotu the kx 80!

well, i'm not particularly lookin' for a dirt machine, but my budget won't allow anything above about 4-5 to buy the project, from there I can put money in as I go (or as I get paychecks haha).