starter drag bike

rawlins87

Can anyone point me in the right direction as far as bike selection or websites to check out for drag bikes.

My original idea was to build a nitrous busa (which is still a possibility but insurance is stupid high for me). I know the old school.bikes are kz1000's (correct?).

Basically I'm wanting to.build a moderately prices drag bike. (I'm a welder fabricator so I have no problems making my own parts if need be.)

Something faster than newer 600/750s.

Stretched, and will see nitrous.

Bike will see street use so no full out drag bikes.

A good bike to ride to trails then have fun and possibly bracket race.

Thanks in advance.

honestly, for what youre describing, a busa sounds like your best bet..... if you get into older bikes like the kzs and stuff - you have to chop them to shit to make them fast and then they kind of become "drag only"

i saw a full blown drag bike at trails that ran like 8.40s...it was an old kz or something like that.... had to fill it up after every pass, not streetable at all, lift off body, etc etc etc.....but a stretched bmw with bolt ons and tune runs that same time and still gets 40-50mpg....you just cant beat new technology

a new 1k or a new busa will be your best bet - with favor on the busa obviously because it already has a head start

that being said - if i went out tomorrow to build a drag bike, it would be an R1

For what you wanna do, here's what I'd suggest for a minimal competitive street/strip setup.

1) Get a Hayabusa (because the AM is HUGE, so you can just buy-n-bolt parts)

2) Get swingarm extensions, a new stretched swingarm, or bolt-on wheelie bars

3) Get air shifter

4) Get two-step (RPM launch controller)

5) Practice, Practice, Practice

Go racing.

i am sure other people that actually race can add more detail, but an air shifter will allow you to shift gears with out using your foot. There is a air cylinder connected to the shifter lever.