Sv650 Vs. Sv1000 Vs. Gsxr-750 Vs. ??? For Track Days

8Rider6

I've been riding on the street for ~5 years now. I'm going to do my first track day in July with my current street bike, my 919. I'm not planning on using this as a regular track bike though, mostly just my street bike. So, next season I'm looking to get another bike for the main purpose of track days, but I'd still like it to be street legal in case I want something different than the 919 on the road. That may change later if I decided to get a 3rd bike though...

So, my top couple choices are the SV650s and SV1000s. When I was first looking into bikes I really wanted an SV650 (naked), but there were no 2003+ in my price range at the time, so I went with a bandit 600. V-twin torque does appeal me. It seems the 1000 may be more fun on the street, but the 650 would be overall better on the track (lighter, more aftermarket parts, cheaper to maintain, etc). Plus I've heard 650 twins have their own racing class, so I guess that'd be a plus too. Other option I suppose would be a 600 SS, but personally I like more torque.

The other option I'm looking into a 750 as I've heard they're nice medium between decent torque, weight, and top end power. I'm not sure if a 750 may be too much for me though since my first bike was a bandit 600, and right now, a 919. Neither of those are slow, but the 919 can still get stomped by modern 600's after you hit ~60mph. The absolute max I would be looking to spend would be $3500 for the bike, the close to $3000 or under, the better.6

There's an outside chance I may hop on something towards the end of the season around Sept. - Oct. if I find a good deal on something I really want, not sure yet though.