Teach me about these 2 generators

Bad324

One of these 2 generators may be coming available to me very shortly. I don't do track days, I don't really camp so the only use they'd likely see is power back up for my house. Thing is, I have no idea how any of that works or where I would set it up to run or how I can connect it to the house so I'm a complete noob.

What I need to know is which of the 2 should I go for? I'm guessing it'll be the bigger one because it can handle more but also a PITA to move

And what would I need to do to be able to use it as back up power for my house

4D66DD2C-C90F-4C0E-B750-692B91FA8383_zps

04FBE6B9-A4C7-4810-B6D4-F2EC401557CB_zps

Edited by Bad324

If you don't want to wire your house you can get a cord, cut the female end off and add a male end. When power goes out make sure your breaker is turned off, fire generator and plug male end into generator and male end into normal 110 plug in your house. This will back feed power into your house and run everything that is on that circuit.

What do you need to power?  A sump pump and a refridgerator?  Either would work, bigger is better.

No sump pump at my house but I have 2 fridges I'd want to run

I have the 5500 one. It's never let me down. It's wired to the house as my back up power

So do you just leave it inside in the basement running then? Yes, this is how clueless I am :lol:

If you don't want to wire your house you can get a cord, cut the female end off and add a male end. When power goes out make sure your breaker is turned off, fire generator and plug male end into generator and male end into normal 110 plug in your house. This will back feed power into your house and run everything that is on that circuit.

well better yet, I found a couple of those types of male/male cords on the shelf above where this is stored

Edited by Bad324