I got laid off yesterday

Rally Pat

Ok, so before people start saying "well, you must not have been good enough to keep", let me explain a few things.

I was an intern at Liebert Corporation, working for the Telecommunications dept with a focus on Networking (I did phone stuff too, though). A few weeks ago, they started to let go of all of the interns that were left in the company. My boss, and my boss' boss fought HR up and down to keep me, but they just couldn't let me stay because of the economy. My buddy that works in the HR department said that part was 100% true too.

So, I have till January 30 to somehow come up with a new source of income. As a friend of mine put it, its not trying to find a needle in a haystack, its trying to find a specific needle in a stack of needles.

I am looking for a job, or a paid internship, in the networking or telecom fields. I am CCNA trained, although I do not yet have the certification because I still have some training to go at school. I will also be moving into a CCNP degree soon after that. I also have experience with Cisco CallManager and IP Phones (79XX), as well as NEC PBX's. I have a resume prepared that I could submit right away.

Thank you for your help and time,

Patrick Burke

Unfortunately, as an intern, you were on the low end of the food chain. With the economy in shambles, and not looking to improve in the next year, many companies are forced to "trim" all non-essential operating expenses. My wife fell victim in October as well.

There are jobs out there. you will most likely have to suck it up and work for less money, or in a job that is "beneath" you. It's unfortunate, but a reality.

My company laid off ALL hourly employees in November. Because we are a seasonal facility, we will be hiring again in late March. But not nearly as many as before this economic cluster-fuck.