Which lens?

Mallard

My wife just bought a Canon T3i and was wondering which lens would be the better 'starter' choice; the 50mm/f1.8 or 40mm/f2.8?

I've seen a lot of people recommend to 50mm, but I also see some saying the 40mm is sharper across the image and question if the user would ever need f1.8.

Well I'm no expert but you have to consider that a lens is usually getting into its sharper apperture about 2 steps up from wide open. So my 1.8 I usually use at 2.2 or higher.

Using your F2.8 lens at 2.8 might yield soft pictures. Also with the 1.8 you have the ability to go down to out to 1.8 if necessary.

just my opinion.

What would worry me more is the focal length, are those T3i crop body? 50mm might be too much.

My wife just bought a Canon T3i and was wondering which lens would be the better 'starter' choice; the 50mm/f1.8 or 40mm/f2.8?

I've seen a lot of people recommend to 50mm, but I also see some saying the 40mm is sharper across the image and question if the user would ever need f1.8.

The 40mm is new lens and I've never used it. Early on it was experiencing problems and while Canon says they have a firmware fix, I don't see it and wouldn't trust it.

http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/slr_cameras?pageKeyCode=prdAdvDetail&docId=0901e02480602860

In terms of the nifty 50, it's a good lens for the money but the reality is also something you need to acknowledge. The bokeh is meh...not impressive. The focal length will likely be a bit long for her on a crop body camera. The current MKII versions are all plastic and the build quailty is again, meh. It's also exhibits inconsistant focusing when wide open at f/1.8 resulting in slight front or back focusing at wide open apertures. If your camera doesn't have MicroFocus Adjustments (which I don't think Rebels do) it could be an issue. Lastly, the focus is slow, so as long as the little one isn't walking yet, you're fine. It won't shoot more than 3 frames per second also.