New Car, But It's Not CR Cool

Wease

I have a somewhat long commute (to me anyway) of 50-60 miles a day, so I've been wanting to get a decent economy car for a while now. I had been driving my SVT Contour for about two years as the daily beater, but that wasn't in my long term plans. I wanted something approaching or above 40 MPG without getting a hybrid or Smart Car. I also wanted a 5 speed and that of course limits it even more. I debated between a Yaris and Fiesta, but finding either in a sedan form (in case the family rides in it) with a manual transmission is really tough. I also didn't want to spend more than $8K. So last week I picked up a 2013 Ford Fiesta. This isn't the exact car, but it's the same exact color and trim level:

http://wease.net/pics/2013%20Fiesta.jpg

It's the base model and it's literally as basic as you can get. Crank windows, no CD player, no cruise. About the only options are power mirrors, tilt, and an aux port for your MP3 player. I drove it back from Michigan this past weekend and got 43 MPG out of it. :cool: The dealership had it for a few months because people just can't drive a stick anymore... :lol:

Least its a 5 speed. Neighbor had one in auto that just bricked one day. Had to junk it.

And since you brought up the automatics, the reviews for them were not good. All kinds of transmission issues. Even a class action lawsuit against Ford. However any review I found for the manuals was great. Hence I bought that one... :nod:

That is absolutely depressing. Can't imagine driving any significant distance in a base fiesta every day. Shit, $8k could have at least gotten you something kinda enthusiasty like a Si, if you're into wrong-wheel-drive teenager cars.

Glad you're happy with it.

That is absolutely depressing. Can't imagine driving any significant distance in a base fiesta every day. Shit, $8k could have at least gotten you something kinda enthusiasty like a Si, if you're into wrong-wheel-drive teenager cars.