Mossberg Maverick 88

Bad324

Let me start this out with I'm still a gun noob. I'm starting to get a handle on all the nuances of handguns but know nothing about shotguns. I've been offered one of these in trade for my Sigma. I wouldn't mind having a shotgun for home defense but can't really see where I would use it much if at all because of where I live. Here is the email I got:

got a Mossberg Maverick model 88 12 gauge shotgun with a vent ribbed double bead barrel comes with modified and turkey choke if you might be interested in that. Thanks

I have no idea what the benefits of either of those 2 things are though so can anyone give me the idiots guide? :D

Opinions on this model are welcome also

I'm a noob on shotguns too but have heard good stuff on those from what I remember. I think it would be worth trading for a Sig, but then I really don't like Sigs at all.

How would it not work for home defense for you? I live in an apartment and love having my shotgun for home defense. Chokes will affect the spread pattern of the shot.

How would it not work for home defense for you?

I live in a neighborhood where it is extremely unlikely a home invasion would occur. Not saying it cant or wont happen, just meant that I don't know how much use I would get out of it

I live in a neighborhood where it is extremely unlikely a home invasion would occur. Not saying it cant or wont happen, just meant that I don't know how much use I would get out of it

Eh, Shit can happen anywhere. Come to the next OR shoot and have at some clays. It's a lot of fun!

I can think of three reasons to use it! deer, turkey, sporting clays! And it would work well if something does go wrong.

i'd love to go hunting but I don't know anyone around here that does. I also get the feeling I would not be so good with clays :lol:

i'd love to go hunting but I don't know anyone around here that does. I also get the feeling I would not be so good with clays :lol: