X box live ?

Hutch

• Replies 102
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I occasionaly get kicked off lately, although I do not have the same cable company. I am wireless, but my wired xbox also gets kicked occasionally lately. I only started occasionally having this issue about two weeks.

I'm hard wired

same

hardwired here.

Have you reset your modem and router recently? If not try that.

yes

Do you have the new xbox with wifi built in or an older one? If its the older ones you have to buy an adapter for it to do wifi. Id plug it in to see if it still boots you.

newer and still boots off when wired

I'm not a techie guy, but the easy way is if in your router setup you can put the xBox in the DMZ (no firewall). I did this a long time ago and it's GTG. My xBox is hardwired w/TW.

I think I did that first with the help of tech support, because it was giving me a Nat error code then stopped after this. Thought it was good to go, but wasn't still got kicked off,

I had a similar problem when I hardwired my xbox slim. I simply used the built in wifi. Note that I'm running on an a Linksys wrt54g.

That being said, it's best to eliminate one piece at a time.

You could bypass your router completely and hard-wire to your modem. This would isolate or elimate the router as the problem. If you continue to get dropped, then it's not your router. Then you could troubleshoot the cable, your xbox, or your modem.

There are some games that require you to open up firewall ports. Not all. I've never had to do this with Xbox live.

I never had a problem until about two weeks ago

The weird thing is it doesn't affect all 3 xboxs at the same time usually only one. I unplug the router and plug it back in and it usually solves the problem. Maybe I should call cable company and have them clear the modem..