Trackday Campers

wantahertzdonut

I'm looking into getting a camper for staying at the track on weekends as well as longer term living as my job will be wrapping up in the Spring, and my girlfriend and I are going to travel for a while.

I'm new to campers, I've only used tents or slept in cars in the past. What do you guys look for and what features are handy for trackdays?

I haven't really set a budget yet, but I'm definitely wanting to stay as small as reasonable. I don't want $400 fill-ups. I am torn between a few options.

1) Getting a crew cab pickup and putting the bikes in the bed, and towing a trailer camper

2) Getting a van based camper and towing the bikes on the trailer

3) Other options?

For what it's worth, I have a class B cdl so I could drive a bus based camper but I think it's out of the budget, plus fuel isn't cheap. My girlfriend won't be able to drive it either. But if there's a converted bus for the right price, I may reconsider. I'm also not sure if I'll want to bring a car to to behind or not. It wouldn't be necessary unless we had a bus, of course.

• Replies 84
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Get a toy hauler. Best of both worlds. Room to sleep and it will easily store two bikes. Have to tow with a truck tho unless you want to buy an realllly ecpensive one

If you have the budget this is obviously the best option, priciest, and the 400 FUs will happen, trust me, I do it all the time, 100-150 all summer long.

A lot of this depends how many days, how serious you are about using it, traveling, and what your needs/future needs are.

I've done it all, starting with enclosed trailer with no power, no insulation, etc. just a cot or air mattress. It's fine and a lot of people do this, but you need facilities in order to make that happen. This was as I had an enclosed trailer and also had a bumper pull travel trailer, so not able to use both at the same time.