UPS guy was good to me today - new lens

Berto

Not that I am some huge expert but I really feel my photography was suffering. I'd get into places where a pano shot wasn't possible but really would have made a huge difference so it was clear that I needed (wanted) a wide angle lens. With the crop body my 18mm really wasn't 18mm.

Went around at one point I was convinced I was going to end up getting the Nikon 10mm-24mm, but with the considerable price tag of $900 (I know in lenses thats not that much, but i'm a beginner give me a break). The only other lens I have purchased was the Nikon 35mm F1.8 which was only $200. I looked at options like the Tamron and the Sigma. Like many of you I spend hours, days, weeks looking at reviews and comparison shots. But being that I do not make money with my photography and also some of the comparisons really didn't show any difference between the Sigma 10-20mm and the Nikon 10-24mm to my eyes. I don't consider myself a Pixel peeper so with a price tag of $479 (UV filter inclued) it was definitely more reasonable. Also throw in that Sigma has added a 3 yr warranty to its 'US market' lenses bringing it up to a total of 4 yr warranty (Nikon is 5 yr) I was feeling more comfortable that they were willing to stand behind their product. Also, I wasn't entirely sure how much i'd use this focal range. If I use it a lot and it breaks after the warranty, I might be more willing to let the cash go for the Nikon, maybe by then I'll be able to make money with my photography to support my habit.

Before anyone asks, I did consider the Tokina 11-16mm which is a superb lens, but would not autofocus with my camera.

First Impressions

- The zip up case is nice to have. Wish nikon lenses came with them. I won't use it much since it'll be in my bag but still nice to know if I store it I can put it in there.