looking to get my motorcycle license

smokin5s

I was reading up on the Ohio BMV requirements and it said you have to take a basic riders course. When you take that course, do you provide your own bike or do you have to ride theirs? The reason for asking is I'm looking to potentially purchase a trike in the near future (wife said she's not opposed to a trike but completely against me getting something with 2 wheels) so I didn't know if that would require a different vehicle for class. Sorry, I'm new to all of this so I'm trying to understand what's required.

what if you want to ride your own? Is that allowed or you are required to use theirs?

http://www.motorcycle.ohio.gov/basic_rider.stm

In certain situations students may be able to use their own motorcycle. Students must have a good reason why they need to use their own motorcycle.

Even though a student may have a good reason to use their own motorcycle, the authorization to use a student own motorcycle in the BRS/BRS-RR will vary by site.

Any motorcycle/scooter model manufactured for on-highway use that meets the following criteria may be used:

Engine displacement is between 100cc and 500cc.

Scooter/motorcycle is a 2-wheeled vehicle (not more than 2 wheels).

Motorcycle/scooter is street-legal.

Motorcycle/scooter is currently licensed and insured (proof of insurance must be shown to instructor). By using their own motorcycle or scooter the student is liable for any injury or damage to other students or equipment.

TL;DR you probably can't use a trike.

If/when you do the course, try to snag one of the standard-style bikes. So much easier to do the maneuverability than the cruisers.

EDIT: Also, FULL FACE HELMET. A client/friend of mine is an instructor and a few weeks ago he saw 2 people eat shit face first on the quick-stop test after locking up the rears. Said both of them would be getting new jaws if it weren't for full face helmets.