Best field to major in todays economy?

Guest JCroz91

Guest JCroz91
Being a freshmen in college and still looking to find a major. I decided I would get some of your guys input on what field is best to major in todays economy. Open for discussion, what do you feel is the best field for a job today? As far as pay, benefits, stress, and over all dificulty of the job?

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well since you wont be graduating in another 3-4 years, and will be working for the next 40 or so years after that, you need to look and try to figure out what will be in demand then and stay in demand. "Today's Economy" isnt really what you need to look for.

I would say...IT. There are a lot of different IT jobs, I'm sure you can find a list of future "hot IT jobs" somewhere. I got a degree in CIS with a "track" in Computer Forensics because it is suppose to be one of those fields, plus it sounded interesting.

EDIT: Also what interests you? That's a big part of it too.

depends if you like sitting behind a desk all day pushing papers or numbers... those usually have great pay from the start.

I love my job but there are 100 others i could make more at even w/o my Masters and right from school's end..

if im gonna do something for the rest of my life i better damn well enjoy it...thats how i see it

Don't chase something merely because you think you can make a killing in it quickly.

A lot of people in their 30's still aren't sure what they want for "career". Hell, I'm convinced most don't even know what a Career is anymore.

Find something you enjoy, to the point where you can see yourself doing it for the next 40+ years. Once you've done this, see what practical real-life job best ties into it, as closely as humanly possible.

If you don't somewhat enjoy what you do, you'll just be another 40 year old with no hair hoping for something to end your miserable existence.

Guest JCroz91