Time to change Bikes?

accel_is_my_drug

I have been commuting on my 06 FZ-1 for 2 years now, and it is the most practical bike I have ever owned. After some small mods It has decent fuel economy, rather comfortable, Liter bike power and acceleration, but it has never dived into the corners the way a proper sport bike would, and no amount of fiddling with shocks, fork settings or anything has really made it feel the way I would like it to.

Anyways, I have noticed I have been commuting less, and doing more weekend romps through what ever twisties I can find. I am looking over trackdays trying to find ones that fit into my schedule as well. I am thinking about going back to a proper sportbike. And if I do, I have lusted over a SP-2 RC-51 in ways that would make this thread NSFW.

The thing is, I would still occasionally commute on the bike, and my commute is 45 miles. Which happens to be a lot of time when folded into the uncomfortable crouch of a supersport.

Is ditching the FZ1 and trying to find a V-twin dumb?????

Have you done a track day on the FZ1?

If not, it's probably a lot more capable than you think.

And there are definitely modifications that could be made to the FZ1 that would make it sportier without sacrificing too much commute-ability.

I'm thinking clip-ons would be a big change right away, and it can't be that hard to find adjustable rearsets for an FZ1.

Those minor mods would be a lot less expensive than an additional bike too...

the FZ1 is on the extremely short list of bikes I'd replace for the VFR. If it handles anything like a similar year FZ6 with a shit load of miles and if I recall correctly a shock that needed replaced then its way more than capable for twisty back road goodness. As far as the track I don't know as I don't have any experience with that

Interested in a low mile (under 2k, at work and need to verify) '10 KTM SMT (non-abs)? Ridden lightly, lightly ridden!!!